should i stay or go?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jayme89

Reaction score
I graduated college in May 2013 and have been living at home with my mom, dad, and 3 younger sisters ever since. After many horrible jobs I've managed to secure full time employment at a place that I enjoy and pays decently (basically above minimum wage). I'm 25 years old and applying to graduate school now and hope to begin in Aug 2015. My mother assumes that I will stay home until then and tells me I need to be saving money to help with my grad school expenses but I feel like I really want to move out. I work in the city but live 30 minutes away from my job in the country/suburbs so there is NO social life here for a single 25 year old. I have 1 friend and we're both in the same predicament. We're both adults who live at home and have no social life. I'm 25 years old and my sisters range in age from 10-14 years old, suffice to say I don't feel like I can be an adult living at home with my parents. There's no going out on the town and coming in late for me. I tried that a few times and was always made to feel awkward and uncomfortable about it. And there's especially no dating for me.

I know saving money would be a good thing to do, but even if I manage to save $4,000-$6,000 in the next year that will only help me out with a little bit of my housing expenses for one year of grad school, It really won't put that much of a dent in my overall college dent in my opinion.

So should I go with my gut and move to the city with a friend so I can actually be an independent adult and attempt to have some sort of a social life or should I be responsible and stay at home and save? I guess I'm just nervous I'll make the wrong decision. any advice is appreciated.

You decide when you leave, not your parents.