Hey

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mundy

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm Chris, 23 from the UK. I'm new here and from looking around I'm really glad I've found this forum. I've decided i'm going to write a bit about my situation, mainly because i've not done it before and also I need to vent a little.
Well like I said, i'm 23 and from the UK, I currently live at home and have been since July 2009. Since finishing university i've found it really hard to find and maintain any form of relationship with people. I'm either at work or sat at home passing the time or sleeping. I live in a small village without any mode of transport, there isn't even a shop here. I walk 4 miles to work and back (which isn't so bad, because I quite like outdoor activities!) But I find it's very draining especially as I work as a waiter/barman who walks around and am on my feet for 12 hours a day.
I dread going to work because it's so unfulfilling, I have a nightmare of a boss and because we're constantly busy there is no chance to form any real bond with anyone I work with. There's also no other work opportunities around where I live.

I'm single, I can't drive and I have no way of meeting anyone new. I've learnt how to occupy myself, I play the guitar and I read books. But from going from a very sociable person to a recluse is not only taking its toll on my personality, but my confidence is at an all time low at the moment.

All my friends seem to be with partners or have moved out and working in the area they wanted after university. Whereas I feel i've gone back to square one and I have real trouble remaining positive. I worry this will also have a knock-on effect for when I actually get to meet new people. I don't want to come across as miserable to them but unfortunately that's what I am at the moment.